Photo via Richard Davis

We know we are a little late with this article, but we elected to make some changes to the website, and have been working on that for awhile. As we are still learning, it takes us a little extra time to get changes up and running how we like them. We aren’t fully done with the updates to the website, but it’s in working order now and hope everyone enjoys the new layout. The All-American lists came out over the past couple weeks, and we still wanted to recognize the great players and coaches who won awards. We also have vote coming up, on what is going to happen with the Winter sports Seniors. We believe it is still a long shot for the vote to pass for the seniors to get an additional year. With that in mind, we gave special recognition to all of the Senior All-Americans who were voted on to an actual All-American Team. Being an All-American in any form is special, so congratulations to all the players who can now call themselves an All-American!

2019-2020 NAIA All-Americans

NAIA DI National Player of the Year – Chris Coffey, 6’7 Sr. Georgetown

The senior from Georgetown (Ky) averaged 15.4ppg, and 12.7rpg. The 12.7rpg led NAIA DI, and his 9.3 defensive rebounds per game also led the country. Chris is now a 2x All-American and was the 2019 DI National Tournament MVP.

NAIA DII National Player of the Year – Kyle Mangas, 6’4 Jr. Indiana Wesleyan

The Junior from Indiana Wesleyan earned his 3rd straight All-American award as he averaged 26.9ppg, 6.4rpg, and 4.2apg. Kyle will be one of the best returning players in the country next season as the NAIA moves to one division!

Seniors On NAIA DI All-American Teams

1st Team All-American

Chris Coffey 6’7 Georgetown

Randy Bell 6’4 Dalton State

Traquan Knight 6’3 LSU Shreveport

Ashford Golden 6’6 Mid-America Christian

Morris Dunnigan 6’3 Talladega

Dexter Hood 6’4 William Penn

2nd Team All-American

Dane Warp 6’5 Carroll

Darius Lasley 6’2 Clarke

Milan Skundric 6’6 Faulkner

Chris Vickers 6’6 LSU Alexandria

Tim Soares 6’11 The Master’s

JJ Culver 6’5 Wayland Baptist

William Lloyd 6’5 Xavier

3rd Team All-American

Bryan Battle 6’5 Freed-Hardeman

Eljay Cowherd 6’0 Georgetown

Reece Brooks 5’10 Lindsey Wilson

Gilbert Thomas 6’7 LSU Shreveport

John Paine 6’6 Menlo

Brock Gardner 6’7 The Master’s

Seniors On NAIA DII All-American Teams

1st Team All-American

Tyler Borchers 6’7 Morningside

Dwight Burton 6’1 Madonna

Mitchell Fink 6’1 Oregon Tech

Ty Hoglund 6’3 Dakota Wesleyan

Paul Marandet 6’1 Spring Arbor

Talon Pinckney 5’10 College of Idaho

Nic Reed 6’5 Olivet Nazarene

2nd Team All-American

Darryl Bowie 5’10 Ottawa

Hussayn Ford 6’6 Northwest (WA)

Mark Gordon 6’5 Keiser

Jackson Lamb 6’4 Briar Cliff

Justin Martin 5’10 Multnomah

Ronnie Rousseau III 5’10 Antelope Valley

Xavier Sewell 6’4 Washington Adventist

Bishop Smith 5’10 IU East

3rd Team All-American

Leo Behrend 6’4 Ave Maria

Austin Butler 6’5 Montreat

Armand Cartwright 6’1 Rochester

Andrew Hamm 6’3 Southwestern

Tate Hoffman 6’7 Southern Oregon

Chris King 6’1 Mount Marty

Lorenzo Moore 6’4 Holy Cross

Blake Smith 6’3 Alice Lloyd

National Coaching Awards

NAIA DI Coach of the Year

John Moore – Westmont (CA)

NABC NAIA DI Coach of the Year

Austin Johnson – Lewis Clark

NAIA DII National Coach of the Year

Colby Blaine – College of Idaho

NABC NAIA DII National Coach of the Year

Mike McBride – Holy Cross

Don Meyer National Coach of the Year

Jim Sykes – Morningside


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.