Skip to content

League Breakdown: Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC)

League Breakdown: Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC)

By naiahoopsreport_admin August 31, 2019 0 Comments

The Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC) is an 11 team NAIA DII league, that consists of teams from Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

Morningside 18-2 29-4
Jamestown 15-5 29-6
Briar Cliff 14-6 22-9
Dakota Wesleyan 13-7 23-10
Northwestern 11-9 17-13
Hastings 10-10 19-12
Dordt 10-10 19-13
Concordia 7-13 15-16
Midland 5-15 10-19
Doane 5-15 9-21
Mount Marty 2-18 6-23

The GPAC is rich in tradition, and is always a deep and tough league. The 2018-19 season was no exception to that tradition. While Morningside won the regular season title, they were beaten by Jamestown in the GPAC Tournament championship game. The GPAC had four teams (Morningside, Jamestown, Briar Cliff, Dakota Wesleyan) qualify for the NAIA DII National Tournament. All four made it out of the first round, with Morningside and Briar Cliff both making it to the National Quarterfinals before getting beat.

Top Returners
1st Team All-American

Ty Hoglund, Senior 26.2ppg (5th in NAIA DII), 4.2 rpg, 2.4apg

Dakota Wesleyan

1st Team All GPAC

2nd Team All-American

Tyler Borchers, Senior 16.3ppg, 7.0rpg, 1.1bpg Ranked #1 in NAIA DII in FG% (.706)


1st Team ALL GPAC

Honorable Mention All-Americans
Jackson Lamb Briar Cliff
Nick Harden Dakota Wesleyan
Bart Hiscock Hastings
Zach Imig Morningside
Trent Hillibrands Northwestern
Key Players Lost
1st Team All-American, GPAC Player of the Year

Jay Wolfe 23.16ppg, 6.97rpg, 3.87apg,

Briar Cliff

1st Team All-GPAC

3rd Team All-Americans

Kevin Oberweiser


1st Team All-Gpac

Jon Purintun


1st Team All-GPAC

New Coaches

Todd Lorensen Comes to Mount Marty from NCAA D3 Buena Vista University. Prior to that he won a NJCAA D2 National Championship as the Head Coach at Southwestern CC (IA).

Follow us on Social Media

About naiahoopsreport_admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.